Avast Needs To Restart Your Computer Next Century: 3 Fixes

avast needs to restart your computer next century
avast needs to restart your computer next century

If you have an internet connection at your home. Then you should already know that a mobile phone or computer is required to access your network. Though once connected, you can start using all the services from your internet. Aside from this, it is also essential that you keep your device maintained. While manually checking all of your files will take a lot of time.

One better option is to use an antivirus program. These will both keep your data secured as well prevent your device from catching viruses. Avast is among the best antivirus programs that you can install. However, recently some people have been reporting that they get the error ‘Avast needs to restart your computer’ with next century as an option. If you are also getting this problem then here are some steps that you should be able to help you out.

Avast Needs To Restart Your Computer Next Century

  1. Restart Your Computer

When getting this error message on your screen when using Avast. You should note that the popup asks the user to reboot their system. This can be due to several reasons. It can be that your application has recently been updated. Alternatively, the program might have deleted some virus or unwanted files from your system. The temporary files from these changes can sometimes require you to restart your device. As the computer is unable to get rid of these or replace them while you are using it.

Considering this, the error message should go away once you reboot your device. You can do this by opening the start menu on your device and then clicking on power. Alternatively, you can directly reboot the device by selecting ‘restart now’ from the popup. Though, keep in mind that this will close down any applications that were running in the background forcefully. This is why you should close these down on your own and save the changes to avoid any important data getting deleted. Once your device boots back up, the error should now be gone and you should be able to start using Avast again.

  1. Re-Install Application

Sometimes even after rebooting your device. The user might notice that the same popup comes back again. This is why you can try restarting your device a few times. However, if this does not fix the problem then the issue might be with your application instead. It might have failed to install the update correctly. This usually happens when you lose your internet connection during an update or it gets interrupted. Considering this, the only option to get rid of the error should be by re-installing your application.

Make sure that you completely remove the program from your system before installing it again. Some files should be in hidden folders that you will have to manually remove. One easy method to find them is by showing all hidden files on your device. Then you can simply search for Avast and all the folders related to it should appear. Additionally, make sure that you install the latest version of the antivirus on your system. This will help you in preventing future errors as well as getting new features on your program.

  1. Change Reminder Settings

Finally, getting to the ‘Next Century’ option. You will notice that this can be selected when the popup to reboot your device appears. Usually, you can simply ignore this as this is one of the reminder settings. Avast allows its users to either reboot their device right after the popup. Alternatively, you can select between several options for when the application will remind you again to reboot your device. The last option should be named ‘Next Century’.

While this might confuse you at first. You should note that the option was provided as a joke for the users. You can even call this an easter egg and simply means that you will not be reminded again about the popup. Though, some people might notice that this does nothing for them as the popup keeps appearing on their device even after selecting the option. This only happens when the reboot is necessary for your device and there is no way to hide the reminder. This is why is it is better that you restart your system once instead of ignoring the error.

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap